Indian Premier League (IPLT20) Wiki History

Indian Premier League, which is most commonly known as IPL, is one of the most happening T20 tournaments around the world. Every year, the grand tournament is arranged and famous cricketers from around the world take part in it. Today, we will discuss some of the key points of the IPL and will try to give you some of the most needed information here just for you. To know more, please continue reading the article.

Few Key Notes on Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League was first started in 2008. Since then, it has been a yearly program and each year the IPL governing body arranges the tournament and so far, it has been the biggest franchise-based T20 tournament around the world. The next edition of the IPL will be held in 2021 as the last edition was held a few days ago where Mumbai Indians become the title winner once again.

IPL Most Successful Teams

As I was saying, the Indian Premier League’s most successful team is Mumbai Indians, a franchise that represents the Mumbai based area of India. The team is the current champion and they had clinched the trophy a record 5th time and are the topper in terms of IPL’s most successful team.

IPL Most Successful Batsman

According to Indian Premier League history, Virat Kohli is the highest run-getter as he has bagged in a total of 5878 runs so far in IPL. Lasith Malinga, the mystery bowler from Sri Lanka, tops the rank among all other bowlers as he collected 170 wickets so far in IPL history being the most successful one.

Position Player Runs
1 Virat Kohli 5878
2  Suresh Raina 5368
3 David Warner 5254
4 Rohit Sharma 5230
5 Shikhar Dhawan 5197
6 AB de Villiers 4849
7 Chris Gayle 4772
8 MS Dhoni 4632
9 Robin Uthappa 4607
10 Gautam Gambhir 4217

IPL Most Successful Bowler

Position Player Wickets
1 Lasith Malinga 170
2 Amit Mishra 160
3 Piyush Chawla 156
4 Dwayne Bravo 153
5 Harbhajan Singh 150
6 Ravichandran Ashwin 138
7 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 136
8 Sunil Narine 127
9 Yuzvendra Chahal 121
10 Umesh Yadav 119

The tournament, being arranged by BCCI, has become a global icon of franchise-based T20 cricket which is arguably the most popular one in recent days. To get more info on the Indian Premier League and the upcoming edition of IPL which means IPL 2021, please stay connected with us and allow us to serve you with all the necessary information.

Updated: December 23, 2020 — 3:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *